Academic Programs Task Force

The current critical challenges related to budget and enrollment provide the University of Missouri with the opportunity to make strategic decisions that will define MU’s overall future direction in the coming years. As part of this process, the Task Force on Academic Program Analysis, Enhancement, and Opportunities was formed in June 2017. This group will be co-chaired by Dr. Cooper Drury and Dr. Matthew Martens.

The task force is charged with conducting a top-to-bottom analysis of all of MU academic programs, and eventually making recommendations regarding areas of future investment, potential consolidations, and in some cases, program discontinuance. Task force members will first prepare an initial report that focuses on synthesizing relevant data, identifying principles, guidelines, and metrics that will inform additional discussions regarding our academic programs, and determining strategies to facilitate engagement with faculty, staff, and students across campus. The task force will then engage extensively with the campus community in gathering input, feedback, recommendations, and responses to the initial report. See proposed comprehensive academic program review process here

Progress Updates


  • June 30, 2017 (initial meeting)
  • July 14, 2017
  • July 27, 2017
  • Aug. 11, 2017
  • Aug. 23, 2017
  • Sept. 13, 2017
  • Sept. 27, 2017
  • Oct. 11, 2017
  • Oct. 25, 2017
  • Nov. 8, 2017
  • Nov. 29, 2017

Task Force Members

Name Department
Cooper Drury Task Force Co-Chair
Associate Dean, College of Arts and Science
Professor, Department of Political Science
College of Arts and Science
Tim Glass Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry
College of Arts and Science
Jeni Hart Assistant Vice Provost for Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs
Jill Kanaley Professor and Associate Chair
Department of Nutrition and Exercise Physiology
College of Human Environmental Sciences
School of Medicine
College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
Lynda Kraxberger Professor and Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Missouri School of Journalism
Matthew Martens Task Force Co-Chair
Faculty Fellow for Academic Programs, Office of the Provost
Professor, Department of Educational, School and Counseling Psychology
College of Education
Nicole Monnier Teaching Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies and Associate Chair
Department of German and Russian Studies
College of Arts and Science
Joi Moore Professor and Director
School of Information Science and Learning Technologies
College of Education
Joe Parcell MFA Professor of Agribusiness and Interim Director
Division of Applied Social Sciences
College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
Stephanie Reid-Arndt Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
School of Health Professions
Ann C. Riley Vice Provost for Libraries and University Librarian
Chris Robert Associate Dean of Graduate Programs and
Associate Professor of Management
Trulaske College of Business
Hani Salim LaPierre Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Associate Dean of Academic Programs
College of Engineering
Stephanie Shonekan Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology and Chair
Department of Black Studies
College of Arts and Science
Jim Spain Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies and eLearning
Professor, Department of Animal Science
College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
Ben Trachtenberg Chair, Faculty Council (2015-2017)
Associate Professor of Law
School of Law
Bill Wiebold Incoming Chair, Faculty Council (2017-2018)
Professor, Division of Plant Sciences
College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources