Mid-Career Research Development Fellows

About the Program

This is a partnership program between the Office of the Provost and the Office of Research, Innovation, and Impact. The program accepted the first class of Fellows in 2020. This program is designed to provide research development opportunities to post-tenure/mid-career faculty prior to promotion to full Professor. Selected faculty participate in workshops and career-building events that focus on research support including topics of balancing service commitments, engaging in collaborative work, understanding promotion criteria, and other topics of concern to mid-career faculty.

During the two-year program, participants are expected to attend monthly 1.5-hour sessions on a range of topics, engage in discussions with peer researchers and participate in individual consultations with staff in the Division of Research, Innovation & Impact.

Research development topics are adapted to meet the needs of the cohort. Topics may include: 

  • Refocusing your research agenda.
  • Identifying potential funding opportunities and collaborators.
  • The path to promotion.
  • The role of public engagement in your research.
  • Developing an effective research team.
  • Balancing mid-career service obligations.

Other benefits of program participation include: 

  • Optional writing retreats.
  • Priority registration for research development events.
  • Additional one-on-one consultations for proposal review, strategy development and career support.

2022-2024 Cohort Directory

  • Casandra Harper, Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis, College of Education and Human Development
  • Claire Horisk, Philosophy, College of Arts and Science
  • Michael Jurczyk, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, College of Engineering
  • Kristin Kopp, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, College of Arts and Science
  • Maike Krenz, Medical Pharmacology and Physiology, School of Medicine
  • Sungkyoung Lee, Strategic Communication, School of Journalism
  • Michael Marlo, English, College of Arts and Science
  • Anne Myers, English, College of Arts and Science
  • Ravi Nistala, Nephrology, School of Medicine
  • Robert Petrone, Learning, Teaching, & Curriculum, College of Education and Human Development
  • Stephen Quackenbush, Political Science, Truman School of Government and Public Affairs
  • Shramik Sengupta, Biomedical, Biological and Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering

2023-2025 Cohort Directory

• James Amos-Landgraf, Veterinary Pathobiology, College of Veterinary Medicine
• Eileen Avery, Sociology, College of Arts & Science
• Kevin Brown, Theatre, College of Arts & Science
• Signe Cohen, Classics Archaeology and Religion, College of Arts & Science
• Matthew Foulkes, Geography, College of Arts & Science
• Rabia Gregory, Sociology, College of Arts & Science
• Idethia Harvey, Health Sciences, School of Health Professions
• Casey Holliday, Anatomy, School of Medicine
• Xunlei Kang, Hematology and Oncology, School of Medicine
• Crystal Lim, Health Psychology, School of Health Professions
• Pei Liu, Applied Social Sciences, College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
• Rachel Proffitt, Occupational Therapy, School of Health Professions
• Ginny Ramseyer Winter, Social Work, School of Health Professions
• Praveen Rao, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
• Rebecca Scott, Sociology, College of Arts & Science
• Daniel Sipe, Languages and Literatures, College of Arts & Science
• Hongmin Sun, Cardiology, School of Medicine

For questions about the program, please contact Candace Kuby (kubyc@missouri.edu) in the Provost’s Office or Christie Terry in the Office of Research, Innovation, & Impact (terryce@missouri.edu).