Provost Leadership Program

Applications are open: Please complete the Qualtrics form by May 1 for consideration in the 2023-24 cohort. (Please note that a short letter of support from a current supervisor is due by May 5.)

About the Program

The Provost Leadership Program (PLP) was adapted from the previous UM System Leadership Development Program (LDP) for MU faculty leaders.

While elements of the LDP were retained, other things are different as we customized some of the experience to MU leadership. The major components of this program will include assessments, faculty panels, topics for reading and discussion, (such as building teams, inclusive leadership, conflict management, etc.) MU-specific topics (such as budget, legal issues, communications, etc.) and leadership lunches.

PLP affirms the vital role of faculty leaders and seeks to enhance their leadership competencies within the academic setting. We recognize that our current and emerging faculty leaders define the direction and values of their department and school. In turn, these leaders shape how MU discovers, disseminates, preserves, and applies knowledge.

Program Goals and Benefits

The goal of the program has been to develop academic leaders who will guide MU into the future. Through the program, members are able to come together for development and growth as leaders, while expanding and enriching their professional networks on personal and institutional levels. Upon completion of the program, PLP members will have gained practical skills to:

  • Offer guidance and support to the faculty
  • Strategically plan for the future of an academic school or department
  • Work with a network of peers to tackle leadership concerns
  • Build commitment among department colleagues toward academic excellence and the MU mission

PLP will consist of 8 sessions between September and April on the MU campus. The 2023-24 dates will be shared by June 2023. The topics will include:

  • Leadership identity
  • Inclusive leadership
  • Building teams
  • Conflict management
  • Making change
  • Peer Coaching (2 sessions)
  • Next steps for you

Cohort Directory, 2023-2024

Cohort will be shared in June 2023.

For questions about the Provost Leadership Program, please contact Carrie Nicholson ( or Alexandra Socarides (