Maxine Christopher Shutz Award and Lecture for Distinguished Teaching


As a result of the generosity of the late Byron T. and Maxine Christopher Shutz, an endowment was established in 1982 to recognize distinguished teachers from the Columbia campus. The award will be presented to a faculty member who has demonstrated extra efforts to involve undergraduates in active learning experiences and to personalize the undergraduate experience of students.

The Maxine Christopher Shutz award was given every two years from 1997-2003, and will now be awarded every year.


The award is in the amount of $2,000, less applicable taxes. In addition to the monetary award, the recipient will be required to deliver a public address following a dinner in his or her honor.


Open to all full-time faculty throughout the Columbia campus.


Faculty colleagues, departments, schools/colleges or recognized campus organizations may nominate individuals.

Do not place nomination materials in a hard binder. The length of the nomination materials is not of primary importance because the final choice will be based on convincing evidence.

Nomination materials will not be returned; therefore, the department chair should retain a copy of nomination materials for possible future use. Unsuccessful nominations may be updated and resubmitted in successive years.

Nomination materials should include:

  1. Submission Requirements Form
  2. Nomination/Cover Letter
    • Describe the characteristics of the nominee that serve to justify his/her being recognized.
  3. Supporting letters from five university faculty
  4. Nominee’s personal philosophy of teaching statement, explicitly outlining his/her instructional goals, instructional strategies and methods of bringing current research into the instructional process. Statement should not exceed five double-spaced pages.
  5. List of courses taught during the preceding five years
  6. Summarizations of student teaching evaluations (Do not include copies of individual student or course forms/sheets.)
  7. Student testimonials (limited to five) from current or former students that address effectiveness, uniqueness and general quality of teaching
  8. Nominee’s curriculum vitae


Annual Deadline:  January 15 (due the following business day when falls on a weekend or holiday)

Nominations and supporting materials must be submitted by the Divisional Dean, who may establish an earlier deadline. Submit an electronic version as a single PDF attachment via email to Name the file as follows: YearShutz_LastFirst (e.g., 2024Shutz_TigerTruman). Original hard copies of the proposal packet are no longer required.

Please contact us at with any questions.

Past Recipients

2024Eric Aldrich, Meteorology
2023Pamela Brown, Biological Sciences
2022Karthik Panchanathan, Anthropology
2021Jeimmie Nevalga, KOMU
2020Julie Elman, Women’s & Gender Studies
2019Elizabeth Brixey, Journalism Professions
2018Keona Ervin, History
2017Neil Minturn, Music
2016Laurie Kingsley, Learning, Teaching & Curriculum
2015Leigh Neier, Learning, Teaching & Curriculum
2014Thomas E. Phillips, Biological Sciences
2013Ilyana Karthas, History
2012Kathy Unrath, Learning Teaching & Curriculum
2011Erica Lembke, Special Education
2010Vitor Trindade, Economics
2009Peter Motavalli, Soil, Environmental & Atmospheric Sciences
2008Michael Smith, Animal Sciences
2007Alan Strathman, Psychological Sciences
2006Carol Anderson, History
2005Renata Maiorino, Learning, Teaching & Curriculum
2004Albert Devlin, English
2003Patricia D. Crown, Art History & Archaeology
2001Michael J. Porter, Communication
1999John Galliher, Sociology
1997No awardee
1996Roy Fox, Curriculum and Instruction
1995James Carrel, Biological Sciences
1994Allen Bluedorn, Management
1993Costanza Cuccaro, Music
1992John Faaborg, Biological Sciences
1991David Leuthold, Political Science
1990Joel A. Hartman, Rural Sociology
1989William B. Bondeson, Philosophy
1988David J. Loschky, Economics
1987Robert M. Collins, History
1986Joseph A. Silvoso, Accountancy
1985William “Mac” Jones, Jr., English
1984John Kuhlman, Economics (D)