SEC Faculty Achievement Awards


The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards honor those with outstanding records in both teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for junior faculty and students. To qualify for the award, an individual’s scholarly contribution or discoveries must be such that colleagues within the discipline have acknowledged the faculty member nationally or internationally.


To be eligible for an SEC Faculty Achievement Award, a faculty member shall:

  • Be a teacher/scholar at the SEC university
  • Have achieved the rank of full professor at the SEC university
  • Have a record of extraordinary teaching
  • Have an outstanding record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally
  • Not be a past SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner


Based upon the requirements for the SEC Faculty Achievement Award, nomination materials include:

  • Nomination Application (name of nominee, title, campus address, email, phone, nominator’s name and signature)
  • A curriculum vitae limited to five pages
  • A list of scholarly publications
  • A statement (limited to two, single-spaced pages) from the faculty member regarding the 
impact of his or her teaching/scholarship
  • A letter (limited to three pages) of recommendation from the dean or unit supervisor
  • For publicity, a complete biographical sketch limited to 500 words
  • A current professional head shot (color, JPEG format, 300 dpi resolution and no less than 1500 x 2000 pixels
  • SEC Faculty Achievement Award Selection Procedures
  • SEC Faculty Achievement Award Selction Timeline


Deadline: Friday, January 15, 2021 (noon)

Nominations and supporting materials must be submitted by the divisional dean. Submit nomination materials as Word documents via email to, naming each document starting with the applicant’s last name followed by a document reference (i.e., Jones-SEC application).

The documents will be made available to MU’s selection committee and MU finalist for the SEC Faculty Achievement Award will be identified in February 2021. The provost’s office will oversee submissions of the final nomination for the SEC Faculty Achievement Award.

MU SEC Faculty Achievement Award Recipients:

  • Dr. Anthony Lupo, Atmospheric Sciences, College of Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources 2020
  • Dr. Shelly Rodgers, Strategic Communication, School of Journalism 2019
  • Dr. Inder K. Khurana, Geraldine Trulaske Chair in Accountancy, Professor, School of Accountancy, Trulaske College of Business 2018
  • Dr. James Birchler,  Curators’ Professor in Biological Sciences, College of Arts & Science 2017
  • Dr. Glen Cameron, Maxine Wilson Gregory Chair in Journalism Research, Professor, Missouri School of Journalism 2016
  • Dr. Michael F. Smith, Curators’ Professor in Animal Science, College of Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources  2015
  • Dr. Judy Wall, Curators’ Professor in Biochemistry, Joinst Curators’ Profesor of Molecular Microbiology & Immunology 2014
  • Dr. Joshua Millspaugh, O’Connor Distinguished Professor of Wildlife Management, College of Agriculture, Food & Natrual Resources  2013

Additional Information

One Professor of the Year Award is given to the outstanding faculty member in the SEC, the monetary value of which is $20,000.

In addition, one SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner from each SEC university will receive a $5,000 honorarium.

SEC Professor of the Year:

  • Marlon Blackwell, Chair & Distinguished Professor of Architecture and Design, University of Arkansas, 2020
  • Dr. Gabriela González, Professor of Physics & Astronomy, Louisiana State University 2019
  • Dr. Marcetta Darensbourg, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Texas A&M University 2018

MU SEC Professor of the Year Award Winner:

  • Dr. James Birchler, Curators’ Professor in Biological Sciences, College of Arts & Science 2017

All SEC  Faculty Achievement and SEC Professor of the Year Award Recipients