The Donald W. Fancher Provost Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension and Continuing Education


To provide special recognition to faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the extension and continuing education efforts of the campus.


The award is in the amount of $1,000, less applicable taxes.


Open to all faculty (full-time, tenured, non-tenured, and non-tenure track) with five or more years at MU. Preference will be given to those who have major extension and/or continuing education responsibilities as reflected by a current, at least 25 percent FTE, extension appointment. Individuals with service dates prior to Sept. 1, 2018, will be considered to have more than five years of service and are eligible to receive this award.


Faculty colleagues, departments, schools/colleges, or recognized campus organizations may nominate individuals.

Do not place nomination materials in a hard binder. The length of the nomination materials is not of primary importance because the final choice will be based on convincing evidence. Nomination materials will not be returned; therefore, the department chair should retain a copy of nomination materials for possible future use. Unsuccessful nominations may be updated and resubmitted in successive years.

Nomination materials should include:

  1. Submission Requirements Form
  2. Nomination/Cover Letter
    • Describe the extension and continuing education activity or activities that qualifies the candidate for nomination (i.e. projects, presentations, sustained administrative and delivery efforts, special honors and awards, publications or other comparable creative activity). Include a statement of the impact of the candidate’s activities.
  3. Supporting letters (limited to five) from clientele served, colleagues, students and peers.
  4. Nominee’s curriculum vitae (or resume).


Annual Deadline:  January 15 (due the following business day when falls on a weekend or holiday)

Nominations and supporting materials must be submitted by the Divisional Dean, who may establish an earlier deadline. Submit an electronic version as a single PDF attachment via email to Name the file as follows: YearFancher_LastFirst (e.g., 2024Fancher_TigerTruman). Original hard copies of the proposal packet are no longer required.

Please contact us at with any questions.

Past Recipients

2023 Julie Kapp, Health Management and Informatics
2022 Teng Teeh Lim, Plant Sciences
2021 No Nominations Submitted
2020 No Nominations submitted
2019 Gerald Lee Miller, Plant Sciences
2018 Judy Stallmann,  Agricultural & Applied Economics, Rural Sociology and TSPA
2017 Timothy Safranski, Animal Sciences
2016 Craig Roberts, Plant Sciences
2015 No award
2014 Robert Broz, Extension Food Systems & Bioengineering
2013 Shirley Farrah, Nursing Extension
2012 Marcia Shannon, Ag Extension, Animal Sciences
2011 No award
2010 Stephen Ball, Human Nutrition & Exercise Physiology/Environmental Sciences Extension
2009 Joe Horner, Ag Extension-Social Sciences
2008 David Patterson, Animal Sciences
2007 Robert Kallenbach, Plant Sciences
2006 John Lory, Agronomy
2005 No award
2004 Von Pittman, Center for Distance and Independent Study
2003 William J. Wiebold, Agronomy
2002 Frank Seibert, Business Extension
2001 Lynn Blinn Pike, Human Development and Family Studies
2000 Kenneth D. Bopp, Health Management and Informatics
1999 Daryl J. Hobbs, Rural Sociology
1998 Ina Lynn McClain, State 4-H Youth
1997 Jerry D. Carpenter, Agricultural Engineering
1996 Doris P. Littrell, Extension Teaching
1995 Barbara Froke, Human Environmental Sciences
1994 Barry J. Steevens, Animal Sciences
1993 Steven Graham, Continuing Professional Education
1992 Robert P. Knight, Editorial (deceased) and Gail S. Ludwig, Geography
1991 Shirley Farrah, Nursing
1990 Wanda Eubank, Environmental Design
1989 Rex R. Campbell, Rural Sociology
1988 Betty Feather, Textile and Apparel Management