Provost’s Award for Leadership in International Education


To recognize MU faculty who have provided outstanding leadership in strengthening MU’s international dimension.


Up to two individuals will be given the annual award which will include a $1,000 prize, less applicable taxes. In addition to being recognized at the campus-wide faculty awards dinner, the awardees will be invited to make presentations at the annual International Fellowship Recognition Evening.


The selected MU faculty members (full-time, tenured, non-tenured and non-tenure track), regardless of departmental affiliation, will have demonstrated outstanding leadership in international education by virtue of contributions, such as by having a creative role in developing a significant aspect of the international curriculum at MU, assuming a lead role in developing an active MU linkage with an international partner, serving on international advisory bodies or by collaboration with international colleagues in significant research and publications.


Faculty colleagues, departments, schools/colleges or recognized campus organizations may nominate individuals.

Do not place nomination materials in a hard binder. The length of the nomination materials is not of primary importance because the final choice will be based on convincing evidence. Nomination materials will not be returned; therefore, the department chair should retain a copy of nomination materials for possible future use. Unsuccessful nominations may be updated and resubmitted in successive years.

Nomination materials should include:

  1. Nomination/Cover Letter
    • Describe the educational activity or activities that qualify the candidate for nomination (include a statement regarding the impact of the nominee’s activities).
  2. Supporting letters (limited to five) from MU colleagues and/or partners abroad
  3. Nominee’s curriculum vitae


Annual Deadline: January 15 (due the following business day when falls on a weekend or holiday)

Nominations and supporting materials must be submitted by the Divisional Dean, who may establish an earlier deadline. Submit an electronic version as a single PDF attachment via email to Name the file as follows: YearProvIntlEd_LastFirst (e.g., 2022ProvIntlEd_TigerTruman). Original hard copies of the proposal packet are no longer required.

Please contact us at with any questions.

Past Recipients

2022 Michael Marlo, English
2021 Leon Schumacher, Agricultural Systems Management
2020 David Herzog, Journalism Professions
2019 Sheena Greitens, Political Science
2018 Suchismita Guha, Physics & Astronomy
2017 Rebecca Meisenbach, Communication
2016 Randall Smith, Journalism
2015 L. Marvin Overby, Political Science
2014 Martha Townsend, English
2013 Tola Pearce, Sociology/WGST
2012 Thomas Johnson, Truman School; Ag Economics
2011 David Ledoux, Animal Sciences
2010 Saku Aura, Economics
2009 Joseph Hobbs, Geography
2008 Robert Sites, Plant Sciences
2007 Puncky Paul Heppner, Education, School & Counseling Psychology
2005 Stuart Loory, Journalism (D)
2004 Michael Nolan, Rural Sociology
2003 Ronald A. Ratti, Economics
2002 James McCartney, International Programs (D) and Charles Timberlake, History (D)
2001 Frederick W. Cropp, IV, Advertising
2000 Kitty Dickerson, Textile and Apparel Management
1999 Byron Scott, Journalism
1998 Charles Franz, Management
1997 Melvin G. Blase, Agricultural Economics (D)
1997 Curtis J. Nelson, Agronomy