Provost’s Outstanding Junior Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award


To give special recognition to junior faculty, who are in the early phases of their careers, for superior research and creative activity on the MU campus.


The award is in the amount of $1,000, less applicable taxes.


Persons holding full-time tenure or non-tenure track appointments with the rank of assistant professor, associate professor, assistant professor of clinical department, associate professor of clinical department, adjunct assistant professor, adjunct associate professor, clinical assistant professor, clinical associate professor, extension assistant professor, extension associate professor, research assistant professor or research instruction associate professor with at least three and no more than five years of service at MU (individuals with service dates prior to Sept. 1, 2017, will be considered to have more than five years service) are eligible.


Faculty colleagues, departments, schools/colleges, or recognized campus organizations may nominate individuals.

Do not place nomination materials in a hard binder. The length of the nomination materials is not of primary importance because the final choice will be based on convincing evidence. Nomination materials will not be returned; therefore, the department chair should retain a copy of nomination materials for possible future use. Unsuccessful nominations may be updated and resubmitted in successive years.

Nomination materials should include:

  1. Nomination/Cover Letter
    • Describe the characteristics that justify his/her being recognized for
      • outstanding contributions in research and/or creative activity
      • demonstrated evidence of such activity, for example refereed publications, juried shows or performances
      • promise for achieving wider national and international recognition
  2. Supporting letters (limited to four: three external, one internal)
  3. Nominee’s curriculum vitae
    • Be sure to include a list of external funding in support of research and/or creative activity and a list of publications, juried shows and/or performances, etc.
  4. Academic Analytics Data (optional): For research awards, the faculty committee, Provost, Chancellor, and/or President may review Academic Analytics data as one piece of data in the review process. Nominees have the option of including their Academic Analytics data with a 1-page contextual statement if they wish in their nomination packet.


Annual Deadline:  January 15 (due the following business day when falls on a weekend or holiday)

Nominations and supporting materials must be submitted by the Divisional Dean, who may establish an earlier deadline. Submit an electronic version as a single PDF attachment via email to Name the file as follows: YearProvJrRsch_LastFirst (e.g., 2022ProvJrRsch_TigerTruman). Original hard copies of the proposal packet are no longer required.

Please contact us at with any questions.

Past Recipients

2022 Rebecca Grollemund, English
2022 S. Christian Rozier, School of Visual Studies
2021 Yicheng Gou, Physics & Astronomy
2021 Laura Zangori, Learning, Teaching & Curriculum
2020 Antoinette Landor, Human Development & Family Science
2020 Meng-Hsuan (Dominic) Yang, History
2019 Ashley Groh, Psychological Sciences
2019 Cristina Mislan, Journalism
2018 John Warren Huntley, Geological Sciences
2018 Elizabeth King, Biological Sciences
2017 Alice Dade, Music
2017 Haojing Yan, Physics & Astronomy
2016 Jim Schiffbauer, Geological Sciences
2015 Gary Baker, Chemistry
2015 Robert Walker, Anthropology
2014 Ricardo M. Holdo, Biological Sciences
2014 J. Brian Houston, Communication
2013 Clintin Davis-Stober, Psychological Sciences
2012 Justin Dyer, Political Science
2011 Shawn Christ, Psychological Sciences
2010 Adam Whaley-Connell, Nephrology; Douglas Steinley, Psychological Sciences
2009 Henry He, Engineering
2008 Angela Speck, Physics & Astronomy; Sean Nicholson-Crotty, Political Science
2007 Eric Sandvol, Geological Sciences; Carsten Ullrich, Physics & Astronomy
2006 Stefan Freund, Music
2005 Jeffrey Rouder, Psychological Sciences
2004 Shi-Jie Chen, Physics
2003 Noah Heringman, English
2002 Catherine E. Krull, Biological Sciences
2001 David J. Eide, Nutritional Sciences
2000 Gabriele Gratton, Psychological Sciences
1999 Dennis Lubahn, Biochemistry and Child Health