SEC Faculty Achievement Awards


The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards honor those with outstanding records in both teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for junior faculty and students. To qualify for the award, an individual’s scholarly contribution or discoveries must be such that colleagues within the discipline have acknowledged the faculty member nationally or internationally.


To be eligible for an SEC Faculty Achievement Award, a faculty member shall:

  • Be a teacher/scholar at the SEC university
  • Have achieved the rank of full professor at the SEC university
  • Have a record of extraordinary teaching
  • Have an outstanding record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally
  • Not be a past SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner


Based upon the requirements for the SEC Faculty Achievement Award, nomination materials include:


Deadline: Monday, January 14, 2019 (noon)

Nominations and supporting materials must be submitted by the divisional dean. Submit nomination materials as a Word document to, naming each document starting with the applicant's last name followed by a document reference (i.e., Jones-SEC application).

The documents will be made available to MU’s selection committee and MU finalist for the SEC Faculty Achievement Award will be identified in February 2019. The provost's office will oversee submissions of the final nomination for the SEC Faculty Achievement Award.

Send only the original copy of the entire proposal packet to:

Office of the Provost
114 Jesse Hall

Additional Information

One Professor of the Year Award is given to the outstanding faculty member in the SEC, the monetary value of which is $20,000.

In addition, one SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner from each SEC university will receive a $5,000 honorarium.

SEC Professor of the Year:

  • Dr. Marcetta Darensbourg, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Texas A&M University, 2018

MU SEC Professor of the the Year Award Winner:

  • Dr. James Birchler, Curators' Professor in Biological Sciences, College of Arts & Science, 2017

MU SEC Faculty Achievement Award Recipients:

  • Dr. Inder K. Khurana, Geraldine Trulaske Chair in Accountancy, Professor, School of Accountancy, Trulaske College of Business 2018
  • Dr. James Birchler,  Curators' Professor in Biological Sciences, College of Arts & Science 2017
  • Dr. Glen Cameron, Maxine Wilson Gregory Chair in Journalism Research, Professor, Missouri School of Journalism 2016
  • Dr. Michael F. Smith, Curators' Professor in Animal Science,College of Agriculture, Food & Natural Rsources  2015
  • Dr. Judy Wall, Curators' Professor in Biochemistry, Joinst Curators' Profesor of Molecular Microbiology & Immunology 2014
  • Dr. Joshua Millspaugh, O'Connor Distinguished Professor of Wildlife Management, College of Agriculture, Food & Natrual Resources  2013

See All SEC  Faculty Achievement and SEC Professor of the Year Award Recipients