Sinclair School of Nursing Dean Search


June 11, 2018 — Sarah Thompson Appointed Dean of MU Sinclair School of Nursing

May 3, 2018 — Finalist Campus Visits and Open Forums Announced

Feb. 16, 2018 – School of Nursing Dean Open Forum, 9:30-11 a.m., Acuff Auditorium in the School of Medicine

Feb. 8, 2018 – Sinclair School or Nursing Dean Search Committee Announced

Dec. 18, 2017 – Roxanne McDaniel named interim dean of MU School of Nursing

Oct. 18, 2017 – MU School of Nursing dean to retire in December

About the Position

Search Committee

Dr. Kathryn Chval, Dean & Professor in the College of Education, will chair the committee that will identify candidates and carry out the open search process for this important leadership role at Mizzou.

The full search committee includes (in alphabetical order): 

  • Greg Alexander, Professor, Nursing
  • Laura Anderson, Senior Academic Advisor, Nursing
  • Tina Bloom, Associate Professor, Nursing
  • Katherine Bowman, Associate Teaching Professor, Nursing
  • Ana Compain-Romero, Advancement Officer, Nursing
  • Susan Devaney, President, Alumni Board
  • Maithe Enriquez, Associate Professor, Nursing
  • Larry Ganong, Professor, Human Development & Family Science
  • Urmeka Jefferson, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Grace Johnson, Graduate Student, Staff Nurse
  • Lori Popejoy, Associate Professor, Chair of Faculty Policy Committee
  • Susan Scott, Manager, Patient Safety & Risk Management; Alumna of doctoral program
  • Sherri Ulbrich, Associate Teaching Professor, Nursing

Tim McIntosh and the Executive Search team at UM System will facilitate the search. Isaacson, Miller, a search firm specializing in higher education searches, will help identify candidates from a national audience. 


February 8, 2018 Interim Provost Jim Spain announces search, committee
February 16, 2018 Sinclair School of Nursing Open Forum, Acuff Auditorium (AM) & Search Committee (PM)
Feb-March, 2018 Candidate Pool Development
March 14, 2018 Committee meeting
April 10, 2018 Committee meeting
Mid-Late April, 2018 Identification and Interview of Semi-Finalist candidates
Late April-May, 2018 Finalist Visits and Sinclair School of Nursing Dean Announcement