2019-20 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2019 Day Date
Class work begins at 8 a.m. Monday August 19
Labor Day Holiday (no classes) Monday September 2
Thanksgiving recess begins at close of day* Saturday November 23
Class work resumes at 8 a.m. Monday December 2
Class work ends at close of day* Thursday December 5
Reading Day Friday December 6
Final examinations begin Monday December 9
Fall semester closes at 5:30 p.m. Friday December 13
Commencement Friday & Saturday December 13 & 14
Grades Due Tuesday December 17
Spring Semester 2020 Day Date
Martin Luther King Holiday (no classes) Monday January 20
Class work begins at 8 a.m. Tuesday January 21
Spring Recess begins at close of day* Saturday March 21
Class work resumes at 8 a.m. Monday March 30
Class work ends at close of day* Thursday May 7
Reading Day Friday May 8
Final examinations begin Monday May 11
Spring semester closes at 5:30 p.m. Friday May 15
Commencement Friday, Saturday & Sunday May 15, 16 & 17
Grades Due Tuesday May 19

Summer Session 2020

8-Week Session 2020 Day Date
Class work begins at 7:30 a.m. Monday June 8
Independence Day recess (no classes) Friday July 3
8-week session closes at 5:30 p.m. Friday July 31
Grades due Tuesday August 4
First 4-Week Session 2020 Day Date
Class work begins at 7:30 a.m. Monday June 8
First 4-week session closes at close of day* Thursday July 2
Second 4-Week Session 2020 Day Date
Class work begins at 7:30 a.m. Monday July 6
Second 4-week session closes at 5:30 p.m.* Friday July 31
Grades Due Tuesday August 4

*Close of day is defined as including late afternoon and evening classes.

Calendar approved by the MU Faculty Council on January 19, 2017.