2017-18 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2017DayDate
Class work begins at 8 a.m. Monday August 21
Labor Day Holiday (no classes) Monday September 4
Thanksgiving recess begins at close of day* Saturday November 18
Class work resumes at 8 a.m. Monday November 27
Class work ends at close of day* Thursday December 7
Reading Day Friday December 8
Final examinations begin Monday December 11
Fall semester closes at 5:30 p.m. Friday December 15
Commencement Friday & Saturday December 15 & 16
Grades Due Tuesday December 19
Spring Semester 2018DayDate
Martin Luther King Holiday (no classes) Monday January 15
Class work begins at 8 a.m. Tuesday January 16
Spring Recess begins at close of day* Saturday March 24
Class work resumes at 8 a.m. Monday April 2
Class work ends at close of day* Thursday May 3
Reading Day Friday May 4
Final examinations begin Monday May 7
Spring semester closes at 5:30 p.m. Friday May 11
Commencement Friday, Saturday & Sunday May 11, 12 & 13
Grades Due Tuesday May 15

Summer Session 2018

8-Week Session 2018DayDate
Class work begins at 7:30 a.m. Monday June 4
Independence Day recess (no classes) Wednesday July 4
8-week session closes at 5:30 p.m. Friday July 27
Grades due Tuesday July 31
First 4-Week Session 2018DayDate
Class work begins at 7:30 a.m. Monday June 4
First 4-week session closes at 5:30 p.m. Friday June 29
Second 4-Week Session 2018DayDate
Class work begins at 7:30 a.m. Monday July 2
Independence Day recess (no classes) Wednesday July 4
Second 4-week session closes at 5:30 p.m. Friday July 27
Grades Due Tuesday July 31

*Close of day is defined as including late afternoon and evening classes.

Resources